| Home Page | Location in West Bengal | Block-demarcated District Map | District Profile | District Administrative Blocks | Govt. Telephone nos | Latest News |
Local/Sadar Administration of Cooch Behar More Links at Bottom

Cooch Behar Municipality is responsible for the civic administration of Cooch Behar town. The Municipality consists of a board of councillors, elected from each of the 20 wards of Cooch Behar town as well as a few members nominated by the State Government. The board of councillors elects a Chairman from among its elected members; the Chairman is the executive head of the municipality.
The State Government looks after education, health and tourism in the town. The town is within the Cooch Behar (SC) Parliamentary Constituency and elects one member to the Lok Sabha (the Lower House of the Indian Parliament). The town area is covered by Cooch Behar Dakshin Assembly Constituency and elects one member to the Bidhan Sabha (West Bengal State Legislative Assembly). Cooch Behar town comes under the jurisdiction of the District Police (which is part of the State Police). The Superintendent of Police oversees the town's security and matters pertaining to law and order.

Cooch Behar District Collectorate
Autonomous Bodies
  • Cooch Behar Treasury Office, Sagardighi, Cooch Behar town
  • NBSTC Bus Terminus (opposite of Rajbari Housing Complex), Cooch Behar town
  • NBSTC Bus Stand, Dinhata
  • Maharaja Jitendra Narayan (M.J.N.) Hospital, Cooch Behar town
  • F.C.I. Railway siding, New Cooch Behar
  • Tufanganj Sub-Treasury Office
  • Dinhata Sub-Treasury Office
  • Mathabhanga Sub-Treasury Office
  • Mekhliganj Sub-Treasury Office
  • I.O.C. Pipeline stretching over 3/4 K.M. between Sankosh Rly. Bridge and Raidak-II Rly. Bridge
  • Tourism Spot, Rashik Bill, Tufanganj
  • State Bank of India (Main Branch), Sagardighi, Cooch Behar town
  • United Bank of India (Main Branch), Sunity Road, Cooch Behar town
Correctional Homes :~
    There are 5 (five) Correctional Homes :
i)  Cooch Behar District Correctional Home ii) Tufanganj Correctional Home
iii) Dinhata Correctional Home iv) Mekhliganj Correctional Home
v)  Mathabhanga Correctional Home
Courts :~
    There are 5 (five) Courts including one District & Session Judge Court in this district.  [ Click-here for Judicial statistics of Cooch Behar.]  [ Click-here for Judicial System in Cooch Behar.]

Other Links :~  | District Profile | Agriculture | Brief History | Citizens  | Demography | Education | Employment | Fairs-n-Festivals ||  Top Page
| Geography | Health | Hats-n-Local Market | History Book | Industry | Physical InfrastructurePublic Utility Information |
| Royal History | Social Infrastructure | Tourism | Tourist Guide | Transport |
|| Feedback || | NIC (CoB) Profile | NIC- CoB's Favourite ||  Website Contents  || Bulletin | Other Centres of NIC | || Advertisement ||

Created by NIC, MoIT Copyright 2002 . All rights reserved by NIC , Cooch Behar Centre
National Informatics Centre, Cooch Behar District Centre
Email - dio-cbr@nic.in
Jai Hind